An official website of the United States government

Alert: National State of Emergency Extended Until August 31, and Repatriation Update, Peru (July 31, 2020)
July 31, 2020

Location: Peru (countrywide)

National State of Emergency Extended Until August 31:  The government of Peru extended the state of emergency until August 31, 2020.  Accordingly, the 10:00 pm to 4:00 am curfew from Monday to Sunday remains in effect in most of Peru with the exception of the following regions of Peru where there is a quarantine and a mandatory daily curfew from 8:00 pm to 4:00 am as well as an all-day Sunday curfew:     

  • Amazonas (only the provinces of Bagua, Condorcanqui and Utcubamba)  
  • Áncash (only the provinces of Santa, Casma and Huaraz)    
  • Apurímac (only the provinces of Abancay and Andahuaylas)  
  • Arequipa (entire region)    
  • Cajamarca (only the provinces of Cajamarca, Jaén and San Ignacio)     
  • Cusco (only the provinces of Cusco and La Convención)    
  • Huancavelica (only the province of Huancavelica)  
  • Huánuco (entire region)    
  • Ica (entire region)    
  • Junín (entire region)    
  • Madre de Dios (only the province of Tambopata)    
  • Moquegua (only the provinces of Mariscal Nieto and Ilo)  
  • Puno (only the provinces of San Román and Puno)  
  • San Martín (entire region)   
  • Tacna (only the province of Tacna)    

For more information (in Spanish), please visit: https://busquedas.elperuano.pe/normaslegales/decreto-supremo-que-prorroga-el-estado-de-emergencia-naciona-decreto-supremo-n-135-2020-pcm-1874483-1/ 

Travel by air and by land is prohibited to and from areas where quarantine is still in effect.  U.S. citizens traveling from restricted areas for repatriation flights should email PeruRepatriations@state.gov for more information.  We encourage all U.S. citizens in the aforementioned areas to comply with the Peruvian government’s quarantine measures and to follow the instructions of Peruvian authorities.  Limit your time outside, carry your identification and phone, and remember that the use of a facemask is required in public.

Repatriation Flights:  To date, approximately 12,445 U.S. citizens have departed Peru on repatriation flights.  All repatriation flights are intended for U.S. citizens and Lawful Permanent Residents (LPRs) to return to the United States from Peru.  All U.S. citizens who wish to depart Peru should purchase a ticket NOW.   DO NOT WAIT TO BE CONTACTED BY THE U.S. EMBASSY.   If you are not a U.S. citizen, you may be subject to additional questioning by Peruvian government authorities to exit the country.  Visa and ESTA holders, including those accompanying U.S. citizens, should be prepared to provide supporting documentation to Peruvian Immigration regarding your emergency need to depart Peru.  


For Assistance: